Yes, for two reasons: to protect your health and to protect your legal rights.
- Health Risks: Self-diagnosing headaches, blurred vision, and other problems as stress induced can be deadly. These various aches and pains can be signs of more serious injuries. You could have a traumatic brain injury, spinal injury, or even internal bleeding that self-diagnosis will miss.
- Legal Risks: Second, under Florida’s personal injury protection (PIP) law (Florida Statute 627.736), you have 14 days to see a doctor after an accident if you want to receive compensation for your medical expenses or other damages. If you do not get medical treatment for your car accident injuries within the 14-day window, the insurance company may deny your accident claim.
Additionally, if you plan on filing a lawsuit against the at-fault driver in the accident, medical records detailing your injuries, diagnosis, treatment regimen, and medical costs will act as some of the most important forms of evidence in your injury case. All of this will have a significant impact on your ability to collect compensation.